Thought Process – stage 3

After my first tutorial, the feedback was a little disheartening, but no less honest and extremely helpful, because my idea, and the work that I presented was indeed too similiar to Fontcuberta’s. When I saw a couple of his photos in the lecture, I didn’t know enough about them, to know that what I had thought up was exactly what he did.

Here is the work I presented in my tutorial,

The scratching and burning of the images were my least favourite effects, because they didn’t look aged or authentic. Burning is an aggressive and permanent act to make on a photograph, scratching is also a violent affect, and it didn’t look like every day ware and tear, it just looked like I’d took a knife to the photo and purposely scratched it. However the folding and the rips, did look authentic.

Leave a Reply

