Evaluation

I felt that throughout this project I was lacking enthusiasm, even though I was extremely excited by my idea, everything felt a bit of drag, that I was doing things because I had to, and I was forcing my self to do research to back my work up. I struggled this time when it came to research because it was difficult to find photographers that linked in. So I branched out into looking at books but it was difficult to research these in the same way as artists or photographers. I became much more enthusiastic when it came to the book itself, I enjoyed learning something new, I felt more accomplished. I also enjoyed the process of working independently on something, because when it came to the end, I felt extremely proud of what I had achieved, it was something I had never done before or had experience in.

The most useful photographer I looked at during this unit was William Eggleston, because it was the first time I appreciated his work and enjoyed the subtle beauty in it. It especially helped when it came to carrying out my own shoots as it is easy to get bogged down with all the numbers, decisive moment or rule of thirds etc. I always feel the need to make a photo be packed full of interesting things, or take it in a certain way, but when you step back from it all, for a lot of people it is nice to see just what is in front of the lens, in no special way.

If I was to carry this unit forward I would spend more time doing research and finding more photographers and artists to back up my work. This time a lot of my research time went into reading and researching for my essay, and this was okay for this unit as my essay (creative writing piece) was the main part which held everything together. It was my project, and I had made my mind up at the beginning that I would write my own story, it just so happened that that I could spend more time on it without having to write an essay on top.

When I was taking the photos I became the character in the book (Caam) and I was taking them the same way she would. Some of the time I took the photos before writing the story, and adapted my writing to suit the photos, and other times I reversed this, in doing so it gave me the ability to work in different ways and include different types of images. Some of the locations that I shot at I could only visit at night, so rather than just not going and seeing it as a blockage, I used it to push my story writing. The photos I took at night became her night-times.

My work has become an example of how the text image relation can be used in a way in which without the text, the images wouldn’t have much context behind. I played with the idea of what the camera sees is true,

Throughout this unit I think I still had, ‘beyond photography’ head on, which I personally don’t see as a bad thing, as this unit is still more than just photography because of the book making. I pulled away from just taking photos, like before and spent a lot of time and effort in researching books and designing my own. I think this paid off by looking at the outcome of the book. I was really pleased when my book came exactly how I planned it to, this shows that I carried out all the correct layouts etc. One thing I would have liked to have tried with the book was to print one A5 portrait, as this was my original plan, but the images would have been too small, I think I still would have chosen the square for hand in but I’d prefer an A5 rectangle sized book purely for the aesthetic of the outside, not thinking about the block pages inside.

I would say the book itself looks professional and well thought out. I benefited from finding a different company, one that would send me a proof before it being finally printed and made, and one that gave me a lot more options with design process. Considering that if I was to publish a photography book in the ‘real world’ I would be taking the photos for the project over a matter of years, and edit down from thousands, and then have a year on top of contacting publishers and working alongside designers, I think given the time scale we had I’ve done a good job.

Leave a Reply

